Of (Metaphorical) Mice and Men

I’m really growing sick of reading online articles now. First I gave up on the Daily Mail, a tabloid which uses sensationalist headlines and gross exaggerations of Britain’s immigration problem to attract readers. Next I’m almost ready to give up on Yahoo. I still read The Guardian, as it is not as sensationalist, but sometimes its articles are a little too forced, a little too left-wing for me to bother with (also, its commentisfree contributors can sometimes be down right annoying and self-righteous). Yet I suppose you could call my disgust somewhat misdirected, as it is really the comments section on the Daily Mail and Yahoo which boil my blood.

Reading the blatant racism, you’d often think we were stuck in the early 20th century. Or right back in the days when Europeans discovered other continents and their people.

Granted, and thankfully, not all commenters act in such a way, but if an article refers to a minority than the topic always rears its ugly head. Last month, I wrote a post on the freedom of speech. I disagree with the content of many comments sections, but I recognise that it is a person’s right to make them. I also don’t like to indiscriminately throw the word racist around. So what angers me is the cowardice. The sheer cowardice. I don’t understand why people would make such comments on the anonymity of the internet, and then go back out into the world and say nothing. I may sit here blogging about various things, but I express the same views in real life. Online, they complain that they cannot spout their views because the government will throw them in jail, accuse them of racism, etc. But so what? The “immigrants” they refer to fought for their right to live in Britain, even at threat of physical harm. Even the publicly-despised and radical Muslim clerics continue to shout their views despite widespread hatred and in-between getting arrested. So what are those who wish to “defend” Britain waiting for?

*Sigh* I don’t like to get involved in this whole issue. But I was tired after a long school day and a few posts on The Student Room website got me seeing red, and I responded rather critically to a thread. In hindsight, I know I should not have said some of things I did and I do regret that I said them. However, the issue of racism is one that needs to be addressed. In the West it’s handled the exact same way in which gay rights is: with a ten-foot pole. Some members of the White British community are panicked by British immigration, especially when they see places like Bradford, Luton or Peckham. Some members of minority groups, particularly Asians and Blacks, walk around with a chip on their shoulder and blame all their problems in life on racism, and love to play that card. But the answer to this isn’t to put up walls, try to kick each other out of the country, or to shout each other down. That solution has never worked. Once again, the only way through this is sitting all the groups down and undertaking the arduous process of changing minds. People like to say it doesn’t work, but the truth is humanity would be nowhere if minds didn’t change. And we’d still be back in the stone ages if those minds didn’t change together.

9 thoughts on “Of (Metaphorical) Mice and Men

  1. Deri

    War. What is it good for? It is good for giving people a reason to strive together, A big threat to all outweighs the imaginary threats by some from some. But there are other big threats to society, not quite as overt or spectacular as hot war. I mean the cold war being waged by the super-rich against the middle classes of the world. In that cold war, tactics such as misdirection abound – such as the ranting racism and homophobia offered by the Daily Rag. That publication is owned by Jonathan Harmsworth, 4th Viscount Rothermere. He ranked 51st in the Sunday Times Rich List 2006 with an estimated wealth of £1,020 million. Lord Rothermere is non-UK domiciled for income and capital gains purposes, so he does not pay UK tax on his offshore income and capital gains. Guess who is one of the super-rich in that war against YOU. Your bible offers Proverbs 29: 18 “Where there is no vision, the people cast off restraint.” I suggest that there is currently no clear vision, no restraint against indulgence in bigotry and social self-destruction. If there is any chance of clarity, it’s offered by the Occupy Movement. However, participatory democracy is necessarily slow and open, allowing easy counteraction by those stormtroopers for the rich, the police.

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      I agree that there is some sort of insidious war against the poor, as the maxim goes: “The rich get richer and the poor get poorer.” The Occupy Movement was the public fighting against this unfairness for the first time. Things have gone quiet again, but as long as things continue to get worse, it’s only a matter of time until the situation flares again.

      Reply
  2. gingerfightback

    The Mail is a strange paper – it has a bizarre view of the world and hates women. Odd. Very odd. Steer clear from now on and your life will be much much happier! I agree about the Guardian too – try the Independent. The Telegraph is good for a laugh (especially the BNP comments its attracts). best wishes.

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      Yes, it is very odd. I definitely need to keep away from it from now. Will definitely try the Independent, political-neutrality is certainly something I’m looking for at the moment. Thanks for the comment! 😀

      Reply
  3. yepirategunn

    I think the Independent is a good, clear paper, but generally I am not sure about journalism these days; views seem to sway, rather than stay consistent. Britain, and the States both seem to grab topics and turn them into major issues. ”Immigration” is a great one to bring back again and again. But its a horrible thing to do, to attract the horrible comments and pretend freedom of speech is being generated.
    I think you are generous – I need to say again (!). I don’t defend the right of someone to shout ”fire!” in the theatre on the basis of freedom of speech. The whole concept of freedom of expression is not under any kind of attack whatsoever, and is used by openly racist bigots to defend the right to say what they want.
    We face much more insidious operators than ones trying to shut us up. On the contrary, they’re quite happy to have us stirred up while they can get on with other agendas.
    I’m with you!

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      I think the opinions change because the media often changes its words to attract a new demographic or to keep old ones, and certain papers are aligned with certain political stances (and we all know how politicians go back and forth on their views). Immigration, terrorism, racism…all popular because of the public interest they generate. It’s horrible, but I suppose that’s the media for you. Anything for money.

      You are right; people are openly racist and when they are told so, they then complain that the left-wing government is violating their freedom of speech to appeal to minorities. And then the papers catch wind of it and there’s the whole debacle over what is racism and are the minorities taking over and what not. >.< And in the midst of this, there the rich are, making their money. I really wonder whether the state of society will ever get better.

      Reply
  4. bionicdee122

    I’m with you on what you said about the Yahoo comments section. It got to a point where I just can’t comment on certain topics anymore. Once someone responds with an ignorant racist comment I just lose it. What grinds my gears is that these people wouldn’t dare voice their opinion if a minority was in the same room with them. But as soon as that person left they’d start whispering their opinions. Yeah you have the right to free speech, but it just show you how many backwards ignorant people live on this planet. It bothers me a lot when anyone plays the race card. I have no problem calling out another black person on their BS. People forget that the US was founded on immigration. I know where my ancestors came from so I say I’m of mixed race. But people who blame all their problems on everyone else instead of taking responsibility irritate me. Grow up and change things and make your own life better instead of whining.

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      At first with Yahoo, I was thankful to see articles without comments where I could quickly comment myself and run. But soon I realised how silly that was, and I’ve now grown sick of reading it. Yahoo’s simply where I look at my mail now.
      And yes, one thing to your face and another behind your back. The attitude is pathetic, and of the commenters who aren’t simply trolls most are like this. And being black, I hate seeing black people do the same thing to other races, and YET calling the race card at the first whiff of a misunderstanding. It makes me sick. We’ve come a long way when it comes to racial issues, but we’ve still got a long way to go.

      Reply

Feel free to comment!

