The Thank You Post

A hug for everyone, courtesy of Pooh and friends. ;)

And I truly mean it. Thank you, all of you who have taken the time to read and comment on my Freshly Pressed post. Both those who agree and those who disagree with me, and especially the latter for commenting with the respect each human is due another. Because of the subject matter, I was worried that a feature would mean many negative or even downright abusive comments, or that the whole comments section would descend into a gay-Christian bashing war. I’m glad to say that the WordPress community has proven me wrong on both accounts.

There are so many comments that my Gmail and WordPress apps have both crashed multiple times with the notifications. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I watched my daily views shoot up from a max of 16 to a whopping 1,583 and counting. Numerous people have liked my post, or shown their support, or at the very least wished me luck in my spiritual journey and life. ย Many have resolved to pray for me, and regardless of our disagreements I thank you too, because this is only an extension of love. I never imagined my post or thoughts could attract attention like this, and I’m touched from all the people telling me that I’d made a difference to them with my maturity and refreshing ideas. I’m glad I could make that difference with this little expression of thought.

I am a woman, I am sixteen, and I am a Christian. I might be critical of the flawed idea that is religion, but my faith in Jesus Christ is a conviction for which I do not need to fall back on religion. I have certain ideas about Christianity, and whether or not I or you believe homosexuality is a sin is irrelevant to gays and Christians living together peacefully. My post was made to say that re-conciliation is possible, not to push my views down your throat. I have my own personal relationship with God, He understands me and I try my best to understand Him. Some people say my understanding is wrong, but that understanding is still my own and is no greater or lesser than another’s understanding of God.

A big hug to all my new followers, likers and commenters, thank you for giving time out of your day for me. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m sorry I haven’t answered everyone’s comments yet, with the influx of comments if you have any personal queries you want quickly and directly answered it would be best to send me an email.ย Thank you all and God Bless!

20 thoughts on “The Thank You Post

  1. kafkaesque777

    Hey there! To copy your style of introduction ” I’m a woman,i’m 18 and i’m christian”. Even though i’m not gay ,i don’t believe in stoning gays. Actually i’m still trying to get my head around what exactly i believe in this matter .And I’m proud to meet a person that has at least tried to get their beliefs chalked out,especially at 16.Hope that your journey is guided by the Light of God’s spirit and that you will feel His love everyday. Praying for you. Amen

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      Hey, my fellow Christian woman! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m glad that you are exploring your beliefs on the matter, and I hope that God can lead you away from the path of hate or fear that many Christians seem to go down surrounding this, and towards understanding instead. Thank you for your blessings and prayer, God bless. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Mind the Gap: I’m Gay and Christian | a flock of crows

  3. livesinstone

    I’m really glad that the blogging community has been so positively responsive. Maybe the times are actually “a changing” for the better. Or bloggers rule. It might be that. Happy writing.

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      I’m really glad too. So many people have commented positively, or emailed to express their support. I hope the times are changing (and of course we rule ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Thank you!

      Reply
  4. Fian

    Congrats! You succeeded in raising ur trafic hahaha. I meet this blog in WordPress front page. I love ur writing. It makes me understand how gays life around me, especially in the whole world ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      The traffic is…whoa. o.O It’s 2600 views+ now. It’s amazing. Thanks for reading, and I hope that it’s helped you realise that we’re just like everyone else. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
  5. The Waiting

    I cannot believe you are sixteen. I wish I had had my head screwed on as well as you clearly do when I was that age! Congratulations again on your wonderful post and I am looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
  6. Mary Beth Marion

    I read your earlier post because of WordPress, and was touched by your openness and thoughtfulness. Then I did something I almost never do with articles on this topic – I read the comments, fully expecting to find some negative and perhaps even ugly responses, and dreading what I might find. Instead, there was an actual conversation, an open exchange of ideas, and a willingness to accept that someone might have a differing opinion. When I checked back in today, I was so stunned to read that you are only 16 years old. Your maturity and reasonable tone are rare in someone your age. I know, because I was once a 16-year-old girl myself, and there was nothing rational or reasonable about anything at that age. However, I was NOT stunned to hear of the increase in your blog traffic. I am a 53-year-old straight Christian woman, and I have been graced by your experience, and I see that I am not the only one. Blessings, sweet girl.

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      Thank you for the kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚ I try to be courteous, because discussions are useless when both sides just shout and argue. Enough people are ready to fight with me for my opinions alone, and I don’t like to aggravate them unnecessarily. I know that I’m doing something right when people tell me that they are shocked by my age; it tells me that what I’m saying is reaching people. And I’m so glad that I touched you and everyone else. God bless.

      Reply
  7. Pingback: The Problem With Teenage Writers | a flock of crows

  8. NotResponsibleAmy

    I’m a straight atheist but I admire intelligence! And I don’t care to discuss my age in case you expect me to act it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  9. Christine Wilson

    My heart hurt when I read your post. I am only able to imagine how you must feel โ€œsitting right in the overlapโ€.

    I have been a member of the Anglican Church of Canada for twenty five years, since I was in my early twenties. Two months ago I was ordained as a Deacon.

    There were several of us ordained that day, one of whom happens to be a gay woman. I say โ€œhappens to beโ€ because it was not an issue. In fact it was a non-issue; quite literally irrelevant. Her sexuality had absolutely nothing to do with her being a beloved member of her community of faith or on her journey to becoming a Priest of the Anglican Church of Canada.

    I share this with you so you know that while you are in the gap now, not only can things be different but in many, many places they already are.

    Thank you for sharing your story, for your courage and faith. I pray you will find a Christian community of faith where you no longer feel you are sitting in the overlap, one who welcomes you as you are — one of Godโ€™s beloved.

    Blessings
    Reverend Christine

    Reply
  10. teeceecounsel

    WordPress is sure a loving community. You are welcome for your gratitude and we sure wish the best for ourselves in this wordpress family.
    Hope you find the time and wisdom to both reflect upon and respond to the numerous comments that await you.
    Congratulations on the massive influx of traffic, not everyone gets to enjoy such a privilege.
    Cheers!

    Reply
    1. dlaiden Post author

      It most certainly is. And I most definitely hope I find the time! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thankfully, the new influx of views has not flooded my notifications like last time, and I will try my best to respond to each new comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Feel free to comment!

